Busan 2022 posters

Asian Project Market 2022: Full Line-Up

Posted by

Busan International Film Festival (BIFF) has announced the 29 projects selected for this year’s Asian Project Market (APM), which this year has opted to exclude non-Asian projects in order to provide more focused support for Asian projects.

APM has also tightened its selection criteria to projects from filmmakers who have directed at least one short or full-length feature film, and producers who have participated in the production of at least one full-length feature film. 

Three films supported by the Asian Cinema Fund’s Script Development Fund will also be included as APM projects as BIFF moves towards strengthening ties among its various strands. New project awards are also being introduced from sponsors including Taiwan’s TAICCA, Japan’s VIPO and Cambodia’s Kongchak Studio. 

APM 2022 will take place as an in-person event for three days from October 9-11 during the Asian Contents & Film Market (ACFM) in the Busan Exhibition and Convention Center (BEXCO).


20th Century Girls, dir: Choi Jinyoung, prod: Kim Sungwoo (Korea) 

Beyond The Frame, dir: Lee I-Hui, prods: Estela Valdivieso Chen, Hazel Wu (Taiwan)

The Day Of Dongkyeong, dir: Kim Sein, prod: Jang Jiwon (Korea) 

Diaphanous, dir: Dornaz Hajiha, prod: Isabelle Glachant (Iran, Hong Kong, China)

Erinyes, dir: Jung Wonhee, prod: Jero Yun (Korea) 

Future Laobans, dir: Maung Sun, prods: Maung Sun, Ma Aeint (Myanmar) 

Gaspar, dir: Yosep Anggi Noen, prods: Yulia Evina Bhara, Cristian Imanuell (Indonesia) 

Hana, dir: Lee Dong-eun, prod: Choi Sun-hee (Korea)

In The Land Of Brothers, dir: Raha Amirfazli, prod: Adrien Barrouillet (France, Iran) 

The Kid, dir: Oh Seongho, prod: Kwun Jungin (Korea) 

Last Shadow At First Light, dir: Nicole Midori Woodford, prod: Jeremy Chua (Singapore, Japan, Slovenia) 

Life I Stole, dir: Sugua Putri Purnama, prod: Tan Cher Kian (Malaysia)

Loop Out, dir: Kim Dukjoong, prod: Jung Hyunjung (Korea) 

My Kabuliwala, dirs: Balaka Ghosh, Sahraa Karimi, prods: Maxine Williamson, Kumud Ranjan, Defrim Isai (India, Australia)

My Sunshine, dir: Hiroshi Okuyama, prod: Nishigaya Toshikazu (Japan) 

One Of A Kind, dir: Iram Parveen Bilal, prods: Apoorva Bakshi, Abd Aziz Merchant, Iram Parveen Bilal (Pakistan, U.S.) 

People’s Violence (working title), dir: Mori Tatsuya, prod: Kobayashi Sanshiro (Japan) 

Rashid, dir: Prithvi Konanur, Thejaswi Konanur (India) 

Red River, dir: Wang Qi, prods: Clarissa Zhang, Pan Yan (China) 

Safa, dir: Maksud Hossain, prods: Maksud Hossain, Trilora Khan, Barkat Hossain, Tanveer Hossain (Bangladesh) 

The Sea Is Calm Tonight, dir: Le Bao, prod: Lai Weijie (Singapore) 

Sima’s Song, dir: Roya Sadat, prod: Alba Sotorra (Spain, Netherlands, France) 

Soldier Of Love, dir: Farkhat Sharipov, prods: Dina Zhumabek, Julia Kim (Kazakhstan)

Something About Us, dir: Jungeun, prod: Park Doohee (Korea) 

The Thonglor Kids, dir: Aditya Assarat, prod: Fran Borgia (Thailand, Singapore) 

Tiger’s Pond, dir: Natesh Hegde, prod: Rishab Shetty (India)

Turning Pages (working title), dir: Eugene Suen, prod: Kim Heejeon (Korea, U.S.)

The Way To School, dir: Chung Jiyoung, prod: Jeong Sangmin (Korea)