Sylvia Chang

Johnnie To Head MIFFest Jury; Sylvia Chang To Receive Lifetime Achievement Award 

Posted by

Malaysia International Film Festival (MIFFest) has announced its full line-up and the appointment of Johnnie To as head of the competition jury. In addition, Taiwanese actress, director and producer Sylvia Chang will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

To will be joined on the jury by Vietnamese actress Truong Ngoc Anh, Japanese filmmaker Ryuichi Hiroki, Malaysian director and comedian Zizan Razak, and Singaporean filmmaker Eric Khoo.

The festival will take place July 23-29 at LaLaport BBCC, while the awards will be held on July 29 at Zepp, Kuala Lumpur.

Malaysian filmmaker Mark Lee See Teck’s Eraser, which features the final on-screen performance of late Malaysian actress Adibah Noor, will receive its world premiere as the opening film of the festival. Taiwanese filmmaker Kanny Chang’s See You At The Rally, exploring the intricate bond between a father and son, will play as the closing film. 

Films screening in the festival’s non-competition category include the world premiere of Malaysian filmmaker Steve Yap’s Adoiii Jiwa Ku; the Malaysian premiere of Jafar Panahi’s No Bears; and Hong Kong filmmaker Eric Tsang’s Hong Kong Family

MIFFest will also feature a programme of Taiwanese films, curated by Kuo Ming-Jung, which will screen titles including Fiona Roan’s American Girl, Chan Ching-lin’s Coo-Coo 043, Laha Mebow’s GAGA and Liao Ming-yi’s I WeirDo. The Taiwan sidebar will also host two forums with speakers including Chong Keat Aun, Chan Ching-lin, Fiona Roan and Lau Kok Rui.

The festival has also forged a collaboration with Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival (BIFAN), through which it will host screenings and seminars related to genre films. Screenings include the International Premiere of Iron Mask, directed by Korea’s Kim Sung Hwan, and the Asian Premiere of Single8 from Japan’s Konaka Kazuya.

MIFFest also announced the nominations for its competition section, which includes the International Premiere of Our Home, directed by India’s Romi Meitei Mayanglambam; the Asian Premiere of Let The Dance Begin, from Spanish filmmaker Marina Seresesky; and Luxembourg, Luxembourg, from Ukraine’s Antonio Lukich (see full list below). 

“This year, we had the pleasure of receiving and watching over 300 films. This is an impressive number that showcases the vibrant state of cinema and the passion for filmmaking around the world,” said MIFFest president and founder Joanne Goh. 


Best Director:
Chie Hayakawa, Plan 75
Lau Kok Rui, Sunny Side Of The Street
Makbul Mubarak, Autobiography
Marina Seresesky, Let The Dance Begin
Romi Meitei Mayanglambam, Our Home

Best Cinematography:
Hideho Urata, Plan 75
Johni Meitei & Kangabam Bikram, Our Home
Leung Ming Kai, A Light Never Goes Out
Misha Lubarsky, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Wojciech Staroń, Autobiography

Best Screenplay:
Chie Hayakawa, Plan 75
Emma Kawawada, My Small Land
Lau Kok Rui, Sunny Side Of The Street
Makbul Mubarak, Autobiography
Marina Seresesky, Let The Dance Begin

Best Actor:
Amil Nasirov, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Anthony Wong, Sunny Side Of The Street
Darío Grandinetti, Let The Dance Begin
Kevin Ardilova, Autobiography
Master Priyojit, Our Home

Best Actress:
Chieko Baisho, Plan 75
Lina Arashi, My Small Land
Mercedes Morán, Let The Dance Begin
Merve Dizdar, Snow And The Bear
Sylvia Chang, A Light Never Goes Out

Best Supporting Actor:
Arswendy Bening Swara, Autobiography
Henick Chou, A Light Never Goes Out
Inderjeet Singh, Sunny Side Of The Street
Jorge Marrale, Let The Dance Begin
Sori Senjam, Our Home

Best Supporting Actress:
Asiye Dinçsoy, Snow And The Bear
Cecilia Choi, A Light Never Goes Out
Kiranjeet Gill, Sunny Side Of The Street
Pastora Vega, Let The Dance Begin
Stefanie Arianne, Plan 75