FESTIVALS: Amanda, A First Farewell take top prizes in Tokyo

Posted by

French director Mikhael Hers’ Amanda was awarded the Tokyo Grand Prix at the close of this year’s Tokyo International Film Festival (TIFF), while A First Farewell from China’s Lina Wang won best film in the Asian Future competition.

Amanda, about a young man who looks after his niece following his sister’s sudden death, also took the WOWOW-sponsored best screenplay award.

Danish drama Before The Frost took the Special Jury Prize and best actor for Jesper Christensen. Best director went to Italian filmmaker Edoardo De Angelis for The Vice Of Hope, which also took best actress for Pina Turco (see full list of winners below).

Meanwhile, the Spirit of Asia Award in the Asian Future section went to Chinese filmmaker Huang Huang’s Wushu Orphan, while Katsumi Nojiri’s Lying To Mom won best film in Japanese Cinema Splash.

This year’s edition of TIFF, which closed on November 3 with a screening of Godzilla: The Planet Eater, drew an audience of around 62,000 and a total of 155,000 people across associated events.


Tokyo Grand Prix – Amanda

Special Jury Prize – Before The Frost

Best director – Edoardo De Angelis, The Vice Of Hope

Best actress – Pina Turco, The Vice Of Hope

Best actor – Jesper Christensen, Before The Frost

Best artistic contribution – The White Crow 

Best screenplay – Amanda

Audience award – Another World

Asian Future Best Film Award – A First Farewell

Spirit Of Asia Award – Huang Huang, A Wushu Orphan

Japanese Cinema Splash Best Director – Masaharu Take, The Gun / Seiji Tanaka, Melancholic

Tokyo Gemstone Award – Mai Kiryu, Lien Binh Phat, Karelle Tremblay, Nijiro Murakami